With a week until the start of the tournament, team lists have been announced for the 2017 Australian Under-14 Club Championships hosted by Dandenong Basketball in Melbourne.

From October 2-7, 24 teams in the boys and girls competition will participate across six pools.

The draw will then be split on Wednesday with the top two placed teams from each pool earning a berth in the Championship Division and the bottom two sides entering the Shield Division.

Playoffs will then be held on Saturday, October 7 with the girls Championship gold medal game tipping off at 5pm while the Championship boys will play for gold at 6.30pm.

In the girls competition, Dandenong Rangers will be hoping a home court advantage will help them repeat the efforts of 1997, 2000, ’02, ’03 and 2009 when they won the Championship although other local teams including Nunawading Spectres have an impressive line-up including Evelyn Curtis and Madison Sinclair who competed last year.

The Manly Warringah Sea Eagles are expected to be able to challenge them for the Michele Timms Trophy though and teams like the Willetton Tigers and Canberra Capitals have successful histories at the Club Champs.

In the boys competition, Bailey Chambers will be aiming to lead the Sydney Comets to defend their Championship from last year although the Sturt Sabres will be out to destroy their party after winning the title in 2015.

The Dandenong Rangers boys also have a strong history after winning gold medals in 1991, ’94, ’98, ’03, ’09 and going back-to-back in 2012-13 while the North Adelaide Rockets reached the podium in 2016 and Jaxon De Bono and Jakob Sellmann are hoping to go a couple of steps further than last year.

The draw for the Under-14 Club Championships can be found here.

To avoid queues, pre-purchase your tickets online for the tournament here.

2017 Australian Club Championships:

2-7 October, 2017
Dandenong Basketball Stadium
270 Stud Road, Dandenong Victoria 3175