Team lists have been announced for the 2017 Helloworld Travel Australian Under-16 Championships with only a week and a half until the tournament begins in Perth, Western Australia.

In the girls competition, Vic Metro will be aiming to maintain their incredible success at the tournament, having won 15 of the past 17 Championships.

The run includes the 2016 title when they defeated NSW Metro 64-38 in the Grand Final and Gemma Potter is back for Vic Metro to defend that Championship.

Catriona Henderson and Riley Crawford will be out for revenge though as returning members of NSW Metro’s team.

WA Country will be represented by twins with Narelle and Nardia Humphries hitting the court while the McLean family connection will continue with Keely McLean following in sister Cassidy’s footsteps when she plays for NSW Country.

Over in the boys competition, Vic Metro will also be aiming to go back-to-back for the first time since 2011-12.

Their second leading scorer from last year, Paul Tsapatolis, will return and would surely love to record another Grand Final win over state rivals, Vic Country.

WA Metro will be desperate to disrupt their success though in front of a parochial Perth crowd.

In 2016, they broke a 12-year medal drought to claim the bronze medal and will have the added bonus of a home court advantage this year.

After lighting up the Kilsyth courts in 2016 when he averaged a competition-best 25.6 points (3.6 more than any other player), Tamuri Wigness will return for Qld North while a New Zealand representative team will head over once again for the men and women.

Hosted by Senators Basketball, the Helloworld Travel Under-16 Champs will run from July 8-15 and you can find the full schedule here.

To avoid queues, pre-purchase your tickets online for the tournament here.

Media can also apply for accreditation to the Championships here.