The Jayco Australian Opals have named a 27 player squad from which up to a maximum of 20 will participate in four selection camps from March-July.

Notable inclusions in this squad are 2014 World Bronze medallist standout Marianna Tolo. Tolo returns to the Jayco Opals after suffering a knee injury in the 2015 WNBA season. Lauren Mansfield has also been named in her first Opals squad and Liz Cambage who will return to Australia after a successful stint in Shanghai.

“Mansfield has had an excellent WNBL season and that prompted us to provide an opportunity for her,” said Jayco Opals head coach Brendan Joyce.

“It is also Kelsey Griffin’s first inclusion. As a naturalised player she will get to experience her first taste of the Jayco Opals.”

“I’m really pleased to have Penny Taylor and Erin Phillips back for the first two camps. Together they bring a wealth of international experience and leadership to the squad and it will be great to see Erin on the court after her own knee injury.”

The first of four camps will be held in Canberra from Tuesday March 29 – Sunday April 3 at the newly refurbished Centre of Excellence. The following three camps to be held in late April in Gosford, late June in Canberra and early July on the Gold Coast.

Of the 27 players named, Joyce is excited to have a majority of the bronze-medal winning team from the 2014 World Champs in the squad.

“We will utilise these camps to maintain and continue to develop the team chemistry we had at the 2014 World Championships and transfer that into 2016.

“We have included bigger squads in the past but this year we wanted to start with a tighter squad to develop cohesion.”

However, these training camps are not just about the on-court work.

“We will run through our structures and strategies but also have a couple of seminars to build on our mission, goals, culture and event resilience”.

“There will be a sports psychologist to discuss resilience training and the challenges and distractions that can occur at big events.”

The Jayco Opals 2016 squad:

  First Name Surname Club
1 Rebecca Allen SEQ Stars
2 Suzy Batkovic Townsville Fire
3 Sara Blicavs Dandenong Rangers
4 Abby Bishop University of Canberra Capitals
5 Natalie Burton Perth Lynx
6 Elizabeth Cambage Shanghai
7 Stephanie Cumming Dandenong Rangers
8 Katie-Rae Ebzery Sydney Uni Flames
9 Cayla George Townsville Fire
10 Madeleine Garrick Melbourne Boomers
11 Kelsey Griffin Bendigo Spirit
12 Laura Hodges Bourges (France)
13 Lauren Jackson University of Canberra Capitals
14 Rachel Jarry SEQ Stars
15 Alice Kunek Melbourne Boomers
16 Tessa Lavey Perth Lynx
17 Tess Madgen Melbourne Boomers
18 Lauren Mansfield SEQ Stars
19 Carley Mijovic Perth Lynx
20 Leilani Mitchell Adelaide Lightning
21 Erin Phillips LA Sparks
22 Elyse Penaluna Melbourne Boomers
23 Belinda Snell Bendigo Spirit
24 Stephanie Talbot University of Canberra Capitals
25 Penny Taylor Phoenix Mercury
26 Marianna Tolo  
27 Kelly Wilson Bendigo Spirit