Ahead of the SEABL MVP Lunch on Sunday, September 13, take a look back at the history of the Most Valuable Player award since its inception in 1989.

Tony Lewis is seeking to become the ninth player in SEABL men’s history to win back-to-back MVP’s after he recorded 147 votes in last year’s awards, ten more than any other player.

Finishing third in the 2014 voting, Daequon Montreal will again contend after tallying 121 votes while Damian Johnson should improve on his 93 votes from last season and challenge for the title.

In the women’s competition, last year’s winner, Maddie Garrick, will not be in contention after playing just nine games but 2013’s victor, Kelly Wilson, could make a late charge as she led the league in assists with 6.2 a game.

If Wilson were to cause the upset, she would join Sharon Simon and Karen Ashby as three-time MVP winners while Regina Days went back-to-back in 1990 and 1991.

A perennial vote-getter, Steph Cumming finished just four votes behind Garrick in 2014’s voting while Kathleen Scheer and Kelly Bowen also finished in the top ten and are sure to contend again this year.

Several past winners have become household names as their careers progressed onto the international stage, namely Andrew Bogut who collected the award in 2003 when the AIS won their first Championship.

Anthony Petrie has also forged a solid career in the NBL and with the Australian Boomers while Australian Opals stars Belinda Snell, Suzy Batkovic, Rachel Jarry and Jess Bibby and current WNBA players Penny Taylor and Jenna O'Hea all left their mark on the SEABL in their junior years.


List of men and women SEABL MVP winners

2014 Tony LewisMaddie Garrick Dandenong RangersFrankston Lady Blues
2013 Shane McDonald, John Pichon (tied)Kelly Wilson Nunawading Spectres, Sandringham SabresKnox Raiders
2012 CJ MassingaleRenae Camino Knox RaidersBendigo Lady Braves
2011 East- Ivan McFarlinSouth- John Pichon

Amy Denson

Bendigo BravesGeelong Supercats

Knox Raiders

2010 E- CJ MassingaleS- Ismail Muhammad

Rachel Jarry

Knox RaidersGeelong Supercats

Ballarat Lady Miners

2009 E- Joe WernerS- David Gruber

Kelly Wilson

Knox RaidersFrankston Blues

Bendigo Lady Braves

2008 E- CJ MassingaleS- David Gruber

Jenna O’Hea

Knox RaidersFrankston Blues

Nunawading Spectres

2007 E- Anthony PetrieS- Anthony Stewart

Karen Ashby

Canberra GunnersHobart Chargers

Ballarat Lady Miners

2006 E- Anthony PetrieS- Denver TenBroek

Karen Ashby

Canberra GunnersBendigo Braves

Ballarat Lady Miners

2005 E- David GruberS- Shawn Redhage

Karen Ashby

Frankston BluesBendigo Braves

Ballarat Lady Miners

2004 E- Grant KeysS- Shawn Redhage

Jessica Bibby

Canberra GunnersN-W Tasmania Thunder

Kilsyth Lady Cobras

2003 E- Andrew BogutS- Jamie Holmes

Andrea Walsh

AISMt. Gambier Pioneers

Bendigo Lady Braves

2002 E- Allen McCowanS- Matt Rueter

Belinda Snell

Albury/Wodonga BanditsKnox Raiders

Sydney Sharks

2001 E- Kevin DaleyS- Eric Hayes

Suzy Batkovic

Geelong SupercatsBallarat Miners

Launceston Tornadoes

2000 E- John RillieS- Ricky Daniels

Penny Taylor

Penrith PanthersBendigo Braves

Nunawading Spectres

1999 E- Stephen BlacksS- Ricky Daniels

Kelly Lemezs

AISBendigo Braves

Frankston Lady Blues

1998 E- Chuck GuittarS- Clyde Jordan

Kaui Wakita

Dandenong RangersGeelong Supercats

Launceston Tornadoes

1997 E- Chris SneedS- David Biwer

Nina Cass

Dandenong RangersHobart Chargers

Bendigo Lady Braves

1996 E- Jason KaiserS- David Biwer

Sharon Simons

Dandenong RangersN-W Tasmania Originals

Broadmeadows Lady Broncos

1995 E- Mike KellyS- Troy Muilenberg

Sharon Simons

Nunawading SpectresFrankston Blues

Broadmeadows Lady Broncos

1994 E- Curtis BlairS- Mike Kelly

Debbie Black

Kilsyth CobrasNunawading Spectres

Launceston Tornadoes

1993 Ron NunnellySharon Simons Murray Bridge BulletsBroadmeadows Lady Broncos
1992 Jeff de LaveagaSue Barton Canberra GunnersBayside Blues
1991 Steve de LaveagaRegina Days Nunawading SpectresDandenong Rangers
1990 Steve de Laveaga, Eric Cooks (tied)Regina Days Nunawading Spectres, Ballarat Miners (tied)Dandenong Rangers
1989 Eric Cooks Ballarat Miners