Yearly Archives: 2014

CoE Men’s Team ready for SEABL challenge

The challenge begins for the next generation of Australian men’s basketball talent when the Basketball Australia National Centre of Excellence (BA CoE) Men’s Team tip-off their SEABL season against the Geelong Supercats on Sunday.

Gliders split opening games of Toronto Challenge

It has been a strong start to the tour of Canada and USA for the Australian Gliders, splitting their opening games of the 2014 Toronto Challenge.

Batkovic and O’Hea withdraw from Opals 2014 campaign

Basketball Australia has been informed that Suzy Batkovic and Jenna O’Hea will not be available for the Jayco Australian Opals’ 2014 FIBA World Championship for Women campaign.

Interview: Cameron Bairstow

It has been a whirlwind 12 months for Cameron Bairstow, going from relative unknown to a fully-fledged Australian Boomer and one of the most dominant players in college basketball.

BA CoE Women’s Team ready for SEABL season

Australian women’s basketball will enter a new era on Sunday, with the Basketball Australia National Centre of Excellence team (BA CoE) to host the Geelong Supercats in the opening round of the 2014 SEABL season.

Team named for U17 Women’s Tour of China

The Jayco Australian Under 17 Women’s team has been named for the upcoming tour of China next month, with 12 players set to make the journey for what shapes as a hectic schedule.

Aussie Women take winning form into March Madness

The Australians will have to do it the hard way if they are to advance, following the draw for the 2014 NCAA Women’s Tournament on Tuesday.

Australian basketball star Ben Madgen joins Team PEAK

Australian basketball star Ben Madgen has today been announced as the inaugural Australian Ambassador for PEAK, a leading global active wear and footwear brand.

Aussies Abroad: Andersen having impact in France

Australian Boomers big man David Andersen has found his feet in France, producing two impressive performances as his Strasbourg team look to stay in the title race.

Staff named for Gems 2015 World Championship campaign

The Jayco Australian Gems have the foundations in place as focus turns to the 2015 FIBA Under 19 World Championship for Women, with the support staff for Head Coach Paul Goriss revealed.

Aussies set for March Madness

Australian Boomers forward Cameron Bairstow leads the New Mexico Lobos into the NCAA Tournament against Stanford, following the official draw this morning as March Madness shifts into gear.

Opals find out opponents for World Championships

The Jayco Australian Opals will face Cuba, South Korea and Belarus in the preliminary rounds of the 2014 FIBA World Championship for Women, following the official draw in Turkey overnight.

2015 Australian Junior Championships – Tender for Host Associations

The Australian Junior Championships (AJC) bring all states together for competition from U14’s through to U20’s, with six separate tournaments in total rotated throughout the country each year.

2014 WNWBL fixture released

Can history repeat and see the Be Active Western Stars make it back-to-back titles as the 2014 Women’s National Wheelchair Basketball League fixture for the upcoming season is released today?

Sachs joins Gliders staff on eve of Canada/USA tour

The Australian Gliders women’s national wheelchair basketball team will get a taste of Toronto, Canada – the host city for the 2014 IWBF Women’s World Wheelchair Basketball Championship – as they embark on a tour of North America.

Opals star Erin Phillips traded to Phoenix Mercury

Jayco Australian Opals star Erin Phillips is off to the Phoenix Mercury after the 2012 WNBA Champion was traded by the Indiana Fever overnight.

U17 Women begin road to World Championships

The road to the 2014 FIBA Under 17 World Championship for Women begins this week for the Jayco Australian Under 17 Women’s squad as they come together in Canberra today for the first camp of 2014.

Stars named in Opals extended World Championships Squad

The Jayco Australian Opals move a step closer to the 2014 FIBA World Championship for Women, with a 31-player extended squad named from which the final team will be selected.