Squad named for first U17 Men’s camp

Squad named for first U17 Men’s camp

The journey to the 2014 FIBA Under 17 World Championships begins now for the Australian Under 17 Men’s program, with a squad of 17 invited to the upcoming training camp starting on Thursday at the Basketball Australia National Centre of Excellence in Canberra.

Fresh from the Australian Under 18 National Championships earlier this month, Head Coach Mark Watkins has called upon a squad of talented young stars who impressed at the tournament and also helped secure a World Championship berth during last year’s FIBA Oceania Under 17 Championships.

Six scholarship-holders from the Centre of Excellence (CoE), including Victorian trio Dejan Vasiljevic, Abiola Akintola and Thomas Wilson, New South Wales pair Isaac Humphries and Deng Gak, and Queenslander Harrison Froling, have been named.

Vasiljevic, Akintola and Wilson have been joined by Victoria Metro teammate Matthew Owies, with the quartet leading the team to the Under 18 Men’s title over New South Wales Country.

The NSW Country team is also well represented in the squad, with Miles Cherry, Sean Cranney, Angus Glover, Jayden Hodgson and Kouat Noi all hoping to force their way into the final 12 to compete against the world’s best in Dubai.

Victoria Country foursome Trent McMullan, Timothy Molloy-Leigh, Jacob Pupavac and Jack White join Tasmanian Kyle Clark in completing the squad for the four-day camp.

The Australian Under 17 Men’s squad will be in Canberra at Basketball Australia National Centre of Excellence at the AIS from 1-4 May. From this camp a squad will be selected to the upcoming tour of China, departing in mid-May.

The 2014 FIBA Under 17 World Championships take place in Dubai, UAE from 7-17 August – the first time a FIBA World Championship has been played in the region.

Australian Under 17 Men’s Squad – BA CoE Training Camp

Abiola Akintola - VICM

Miles Cherry - NSWC

Kyle Clark - TAS

Sean Cranney - NSWC

Harrison Froling - QLDN

Deng Gak - NSWM

Angus Glover - NSWC

Jayden Hodgson - NSWC

Isaac Humphries - NSWM

Trent McMullan - VICC

Timothy Molloy-Leigh - VICC

Kouat Noi - NSWC

Matthew Owies - VICM

Jacob Pupavac - VICM

Dejan Vasiljevic - VICM

Jackson White - VICC

Thomas Wilson - VICM