CoE Men’s Team ready for SEABL challenge

CoE Men’s Team ready for SEABL challenge

The challenge begins for the next generation of Australian men’s basketball talent when the Basketball Australia National Centre of Excellence (BA CoE) Men’s Team tip-off their SEABL season against the Geelong Supercats on Sunday.

The exciting young team brings together some of the nation’s best junior players, many who have already represented their country at major international tournaments.

This experience will be called upon over the coming months as they take on the SEABL’s best, with many rosters sporting current NBL players.

Among the scholarship holders who will form the BA CoE Men’s Team are Queensland duo Jack McVeigh and Harry Froling, joining New South Wales pair Gerard Martin and Isaac Humphries, along with Tanner Krebs from Tasmania.

Dejan Vasiljevic, Tom Wilson, Abi Akintola, George Blagojevic and Jock Perry make up the five scholarship recipients from Victoria.

This is a return to the SEABL of sorts for the BA CoE Men’s Team, having previously participated in the competition between 1982 and 2010 while the program was under the direction of the AIS.

During this time, many of the Australian Boomers stars of today came through the SEABL competition, including Patty Mills, Joe Ingles, David Andersen and Matthew Dellavedova.

The season will start for BA CoE Women’s and Men’s teams playing a double-header against the Geelong Supercats on Sunday, with the Women’s Team tipping off at 12:00pm (AEDT) and the Men’s Team in action from 2:00pm at the BA CoE Training Hall at the AIS in Canberra.

CLICK HERE to see the BA CoE Men’s Team fixture list for the 2014 SEABL season.

BA National Centre of Excellence Men’s Program Scholarship Athletes 2014

Abi Akintola

George Blagojevic

Harry Froling

Isaac Humphries

Tanner Krebs

Gerard Martin

Jack McVeigh

Jock Perry

Dejan Vasiljevic

Tom Wilson