Gliders and Rollers ready for AOZ Championships

Gliders and Rollers ready for AOZ Championships

The path to the IWBF World Championships will become clearer over the next week as the Australian Rollers and Australian Gliders look to book their place at the 2013 IWBF Asia-Oceania Zone Championships, tipping off this week in Bangkok, Thailand.

Both Australian wheelchair basketball teams arrived in Thailand this week ahead of the championship tip-off on Friday, with the Gliders taking on Japan and the Rollers coming up against South Korea.

The Gliders women’s wheelchair basketball team come into the tournament for their first competitive hit out since taking silver at 2012 London Paralympic Games.

New Head Coach Tom Kyle has called upon a star-studded squad, with the likes of Cobi Crispin, Shelley Chaplin, Amber Merritt and Leanne Del Toso leading a team bursting with Paralympic experience.

For the Gliders, the AOZ Championships are the sole qualification event for next
year’s IWBF Women’s Wheelchair Basketball World Championships to be held in Toronto, Canada, with three spots up for grabs in the four-team tournament.

The Gliders open their quest for the AOZ Championship on Friday as they take on Japan (time) before contests against Thailand and China.

Fresh from a convincing win over Paralympic gold medallists Canada in the final of the Champions Cup last week, the Rollers arrive in Thailand full of confidence and eager to carry their momentum into their tournament-opening clash with South

The likes of multiple Paralympians Justin Eveson, Brad Ness and Tristan Knowles all impressed at the Champions Cup in Japan, giving the Rollers the confidence they can secure one of the three qualification positions available for the 2014 IWBF Men’s Wheelchair Basketball World Championships.

After the Korea clash, Kuwait, New Zealand and Thailand await for the Rollers in their group.

Stay tuned to the BA website throughout the 2013 IWBF Asia-Oceania Zone Championships for all the latest results from Bangkok at and on twitter at @BasketballAus.

Australian Gliders Team

Bridie Kean QLD
Sarah Vinci WA
Cobi Crispin VIC
Georgia Inglis WA
Sarah Stewart NSW
Leanne Del Toso VIC
Clare Nott WA
Kylie Gauci NSW
Shelley Chaplin VIC
Kathleen O’Kelly-Kennedy WA
Caitlin de Wit NSW
Amber Merritt WA

Australian Rollers Team
Brad Ness WA
Justin Eveson WA
Bill Latham QLD
Shaun Norris WA
Michael Hartnett WA
Tristan Knowles NSW
Jannik Blair VIC
Michael D’Amelio VIC
Adam Deans WA
Michael Auprince NSW
Tom O’Neill-Thorne NT
Luke Pople NSW