Australian Basketball Hall of Fame - Class of 2013 Induction Dinner

Australian Basketball Hall of Fame - Class of 2013 Induction Dinner

Basketball Australia is proud to host the 5th Australian Basketball Hall of Fame – Class of 2013 Induction Dinner on Thursday 21 November in the Grand Ballroom at The Pullman Albert Park in Melbourne.

The Australian Basketball Hall of Fame (ABHF) recognises those who have made an outstanding contribution to the sport at international or national levels, across the men’s and women’s professional leagues, through their States or Associations, at the local level, or to Australian basketball generally.

Past greats inducted into the ABHF include Andrew Gaze OAM, Lindsay Gaze OAM, Luc Longley, John Raschke OAM, Alistair Ramsay OAM MBE, Robyn Maher OAM, Michele Timms, Danny Morseu, Bob Elphinston OAM and Phil Smyth AM.

Basketball Australia Chief Executive Officer Kristina Keneally said: “Australian basketball is fortunate to enjoy such passionate support from a range of people – players, coaches, officials and contributors – who continue to push the game forward.

“The ABHF is dedicated to celebrating the history of the sport, honouring our heroes, inspiring our youth and upholding the legacy of our great game for generations to come.

“We look forward to welcoming the 2013 ABHF inductees into basketball’s most exclusive group as we pay tribute to their achievements and great contribution to our sport.”

Basketball Australia will continue to administer the Hall of Fame, consider nominations and induct nominees from right across the sport.

Details of 2013 inductees will be released prior to the induction dinner.

Australian Basketball Hall of Fame – Class of 2013 Induction Dinner

Date: Thursday 21 November 2013
Time: 6:30pm arrival for 7:00pm start
Venue: Grand Ballroom, The Pullman Albert Park, Melbourne
Dress: Black tie
Cost: Public ticket $175 / BA Member $160 / Table of ten $1600
RSVP: By Friday 8 November 2013

Click here for further ticketing information.

Further ABHF Information

The ABHF is open to able-bodied athletes as well as athletes with a disability. Inductees to the ABHF are made in four divisions:

• Player;
• Coach;
• Technical Official; and
• Contributor.

An award may also be given in the ‘Legend’ category:

• The Legend Award is the ultimate award in the Hall of Fame and can be made only to persons who have previously been inducted into it;
• One ‘Legend’ across all ABHF divisions may be inducted in each award period; and
• An ABHF Legend nomination is restricted to those whose association with Australian basketball has reached “legend” status, who have previously been inducted into the Hall of Fame, and whose service to basketball and Basketball Australia is worthy of the highest honour in Australia in the sport of basketball.

Click here to see a full list of ABHF members.