U23 Team selected for IWBF AOZ Qualifier

U23 Team selected for IWBF AOZ Qualifier

Basketball Australia today announced the Under 23’s Men’s Wheelchair Basketball team selected to represent Australia at the World Cup Qualifier for the Asia Oceania Zone in June in Thailand.

The 12 man team – led by 2012 London Rollers’ silver medallist Jannik Blair – will head to Bangkok for the qualifier from 10-12 June where they will take on Japan, Malaysia, Thailand, Iraq and Iran.

The three top placed teams will progress through to the World Championships in Turkey in September.

The team selected to attend the IWBF AOZ Qualification Tournament in Bangkok, Thailand in June is:


Jannik Blair             (Vic)

Michael Auprince     (NSW)

Jordan Bartley         (Qld)

Marcus Chaivelli      (Vic)

Bradley Fisher         (Tas)

Clarence Grogan     (NT)  

Kayl Jeffery             (WA)

Jake Kavanagh       (WA) 

Ryan Morich           (WA)

Tom O’Neill-Thorne (NT)

Luke Pople              (NSW)  

Colin Smith             (NSW)


Thomas Kyle           (Head Coach)

David Gould            (Assistant Coach)

Sonia Healy            (Assistant Coach)

Ryan Campbell        (Physiotherapist)

Donna Ironmonger (Team Manager)

In the interim five members of the team including Blair, Marcus Chaibelli, Kayl Jeffery, Luke Pople and Tom O’Neill Thorne will gain valuable experience as part of the Australian Rollers squad that will head to Varese Italy for a camp from 25-30 March. 

The remainder of the group will train with their individual national league teams before re-assembling at the AIS in Canberra for a camp from 16-19 May.

The 2013 IWBF Men’s Under 23’s World Championships will be held from 12-22 September in Adana, Turkey.

See Team Profiles in attached PDF.

Related Files