Australian U20 and Ivor Burge Basketball Champs - Final Wrap

Australian U20 and Ivor Burge Basketball Champs - Final Wrap

The Australian Ivor Burge and Under 20 Basketball Championships are over for another year following a successful week-long event which came to a conclusion at the weekend at Launceston’s Elphin Sports Centre.

Victoria dominated the medal tally with five medals (four gold and one bronze) of the 12 available. New South Wales went home with four (two silver and two bronze), South Australia took two (silver and bronze) and Queensland won the sole remaining medal with a silver in the Ivor Burge men’s division.

Victoria’s four gold medals gave it a clean sweep across the four competitions with silvers going to New South Wales in under 20 men, South Australia in under 20 women, Queensland in Ivor Burge men and New South Wales Country in Ivor Burge women.

Tasmania finished seventh in the under 20 men’s and women’s competitions, sixth in the Ivor Burge men’s division and fifth in Ivor Burge women. 

All Tasmanian teams were competitive at times but could not match the stronger states, Victoria in particular. The under 20 men had the hard-luck story to tell, winning one game but losing another three by a a total of 14 points including a two point loss to eventual silver medalists New South Wales.

Tasmanian players featured well in the final statistical tables at the end of the week.

For the Tasmanian under 20 men, Matt Young blocked ten shots to finish fourth on the list behind Western Australia’s Keanu Pinder with 16. Young was also fifth in defensive rebounds, behind Ryan Clark (SA) with 42 and Matt Brazendale was fourth in free throw percentage with 72.2% behind New Zealand’s Tai Webster with 78.6%.

For the Tasmanian under 20 women, Irini Alexiou led the championship in three point percentage (30.3%), total points scored (120 at 20 per game) and total three point shots made (20). Mickaela Dickson was fourth in average assists with 3.3 per game, behind Queensland’s Tina Mangakahia with 6.0. Mangakahia was also the championship leader in steals with 15 while Tasmania’s Lauren Faulkner was third on the list with 13.

Josh Cleary led the Ivor Burge men’s championship in offensive rebounds with 53, was second on the average total rebounding list with 17.4 per game, second in total points scored with 101 at 20.2 per game and fifth in free throws made with 13. Dylan Pace was fifth in average points with 15,8 per game and Scott Crowden was third in total three point shots made with five. Team captain Bruce Stanley was fourth in free throws made with 16 at 59.3%.

Tasmania’s Ivor Burge woman’s captain Christine Maynard led the championship in blocks with 16, was second in offensive rebounds (41) and fifth in total rebounds with 80.

The Tasmanian Ivor Burge women’s team won the event’s Fair Play Award while the Bob Stanton medals for most outstanding players in the championship went to Dante Exum (Victoria) and Alex Wilson (South Australia).

Final Standings.

Ivor Burge Men:

• 1. Vic Metro

• 2. Qld

• 3. Vic Country

• 4. SA

• 5. ACT

• 6. Tas

• 7. NSW Country

• 8. WA

Ivor Burge Women:

• 1. Vic Metro

• 2. NSW Country

• 3. NSW Metro

• 4. Vic Country

• 5. Tas

• 6. SA

Under 20 Men:

• 1. Vic

• 2. NSW

• 3. SA

• 4. NZ

• 5. WA

• 6. ACT

• 7. Tas

• 8. Qld

Under 20 Women:

• 1. Vic

• 2. SA

• 3. NSW

• 4. WA

• 5. Qld

• 6. ACT

• 7. Tas

• 8. NZ