Crispin & Knowles named Wheelchair Int. Players of the Year

Crispin & Knowles named Wheelchair Int. Players of the Year

Australian Wheelchair basketball stars Cobi Crispin and Tristan Knowles have been awarded the Women’s and Men’s International Player of the Year Award at the Basketball Australia iiNet MVP Awards dinner from the Palladium at Crown on Monday night.

Cobi Crispin picks up the Sue Hobbs Medal after a dominant 2011 for the Gliders, which included a Gold at the Asia Oceania Championship, the tournament that served as the official London Paralympic Games qualifier.

Crispin was selected in the Asia Oceania Championship All-Star Five and led the side with 18 points in the Gold Medal game against China. 

Crispin was also impressive earlier in the year when the side competed in the Four Nations Tournament in Hamburg against France, Germany and Great Britain.

The Rollers impressed on court in 2011, and Tristan Knowles was a key contributor to the team’s success, as his impressive career continues to grow in strides, awarding him the Sandy Blythe Medal. 

His skills were on show in the Gold Medal game of the Asia Oceania Championship where he led all scorers with 23 points, securing London Paralympic Games qualification. 

Knowles had a 21-point quarter against Japan in the same tournament, one of the highest single-quarter tallies in International basketball history.

Knowles was also a key member of a young Rollers line-up that competed at the International Tournament of Champions.