Two Australian Referess selected for London 2012

Two Australian Referess selected for London 2012

National Basketball League referees Vaughan Mayberry and Michael Aylen have been awarded the ultimate honour, with both being selected to officiate at the 2012 London Olympic Games.

Queenslander Mayberry and Aylen of Victoria are senior officials in the iiNet NBL Championship and their experience and expertise have been recognised by basketball’s international governing body FIBA by being nominated to officiate in London.

Basketball Australia Chief Executive Officer Larry Sengstock said the appointment of Aylen and Mayberry was a massive endorsement of the world class quality of Australian officials.

“Being selected to officiate at an Olympic Games is the ultimate honour for any referee and we are exceptionally proud to have Michael Aylen and Vaughan Mayberry nominated to the Olympic panel,” said Sengstock.

“FIBA select only the best officials in the world for major championships so it is a ringing endorsement of the quality of our NBL referees to have not one, but two named to the panel for London 2012,” Sengstock added.

Mayberry and Aylen were nominated along with 28 of the world’s best referees for London 2012. Australia is one of only five countries to have more than one nominated referee, the others being basketball superpowers Italy, USA, Argentina and Brazil.

This will be Aylen’s third Olympic Games after he also officiated in 2004 and 2008. Aylen, the reigning NBL Referee of the Year, has also previously refereed the men’s World Championships in 2006 and 2010.

Mayberry has twice refereed at senior World Championships (Men’s World Championships in 2002 and Women’s World Championships in 2006) but will be making his Olympic debut in London.

Australia will also be represented in London by former NBL referee Bill Mildenhall (Victoria) and Basketball Australia’s General Manager of National Teams and Competitions Lorraine Landon (New South Wales) in London 2012, after both were nominated to the prestigious role of Jury Members.