Mills and Cox win top honours at 2011 Deadly Awards

Mills and Cox win top honours at 2011 Deadly Awards

Melbourne Tigers and Australian Boomers basketballer Patrick Mills has been named Sportsman of the Year at the annual Deadly Awards in Sydney, while former WNBL MVP and Jayco Opal Rohanee Cox has won the 2011 Deadly Awards Sportswoman of the Year.

Mills beat out a strong field of indigenous male sports stars for the award, including boxer Daniel Geale, rugby union star Kurtley Beale, hockey player Des Abbott and discus thrower Benn Harradine.

Cox won the award for the fourth time after previously collecting the accolade three years running in 2007, 2008 and 2009. She beat Junior Wimbledon champion Ashleigh Barty for this year’s prize.

After a season off from WNBL action, Cox returns in 2011/12 to represent her home state of WA when she suits up for the West Coast Waves.

The winners of the 2011 Deadly Awards were named at a glitzy ceremony at the Sydney Opera House on Tuesday night.

The awards, now in their 17th year, celebrate Aboriginal and Torres Strait islander achievements in entertainment, music, sport and the community.

Mills also presented the award for Outstanding Achievement in AFL and NRL.