Australian Gliders team named for Osaka Cup

Australian Gliders team named for Osaka Cup

Following a four day training camp, the Gliders team that will represent Australia in the Osaka Cup has been selected.

Of the team includes stars Kylie Gauci, Sarah Stewart and Cobi Crispin. Also in the side is National team new-comers Stephanie Van Leeuwen, Shelley Cronau and Sarah Vinci.

The side will now travel to Osaka, Japan to compete in the Osaka Cup between the 1-5 of February against the USA, Canada and Japan. The Gliders have won the Osaka Cup for the past two years in a row, last year defeating the USA by 18 points in the final. They will be looking to take the tournament for the third-straight year.

2011 Australia Gliders Team (Osaka Cup):

Stephanie Van Leeuwen (Sydney)

Cobi Crispin (Mackay)

Shelley Cronau (Brisbane)

Amanda Carter (Melbourne)

Sarah Vinci (Perth)

Clare Burzynski (Perth)

Kylie Gauci (Sydney)

Shelley Chaplin (Melbourne

Sarah Stewart (Sydney)

Katie Hill (Sydney)

Amber Merritt (Perth)

Leanne Del Toso (Melbourne)

Head Coach Women’s Wheelchair Program – Jan Stirling

Head Coach Gliders – John Triscari

Asst Coach Gliders – Ben Osborne & Gerry Hewson

Manager – Marian Stewart

Physiotherapist – Miranda Wallis

Click here to read the recent Canberra Times feature article on the Gliders