WNBL launches 30th season on Tuesday

WNBL launches 30th season on Tuesday

WNBL fans are invited to the 30th Women’s National Basketball League Season Launch at Bulleen Stadium in Victoria on Tuesday.

Guests will arrive in advance of a 12:30pm AEST start before triple Olympian and Basketball Hall of Famer Robyn Maher officially opens the 2009/10 season.

Maher, a veteran of six World Championship campaigns and Australia’s most capped women’s basketball player with 374 internationals, amassed 369 WNBL games between 1981 and 2000 and was named Most Valuable Player on two occasions.

The 2009/10 WNBL season tips off this Friday with Dandenong at home to Bendigo in the first of six games over three days in Round 1.

Reigning Champion Canberra hosts Bulleen on Saturday afternoon in a Grand Final rematch televised on ABC1 at 1:00pm AEST; the ABC proudly continuing as broadcast partner of the WNBL for a record 20th year dating back to 1989.

Brett Phillips, the anchor of www.wnbl.com.au’s new WNBL Radio, will MC the WNBL launch at Bulleen on Tuesday which will also feature Basketball Australia Chief Executive Larry Sengstock and nominated representatives of all ten WNBL teams.

Adelaide Lightning, Australian Institute of Sport, Bendigo Spirit, Bulleen Boomers, Canberra Capitals, Dandenong Rangers, Logan Thunder, Perth Lynx, Sydney Uni Flames and Townsville Fire will contest the 2009/10 WNBL season.

The WNBL will continue with initiatives connecting the elite women’s league to grassroots level of competition with Round 10 named ‘WNBL Nurtures: Grass Roots Round’.

In support of the Cancer Council, the WNBL’s official charity, Round 4 will be named ‘WNBL Cares: Pink Ribbon Round’ while Round 16 will be named ‘WNBL Cares: Canteen Round’ and will be dedicated to young people living with cancer.

Robyn Maher, Larry Sengstock and all ten nominated WNBL club representatives will be available to media for one-on-one interviews from 1:05pm AEST at the launch.

WHO:            Special Guest BA Hall of Famer Robyn Maher
                   BA Chief Executive Larry Sengstock
                    10 WNBL club representatives:
                   Jess Foley (Adelaide), Alice Kunek (AIS),
                   Kelly Wilson (Bendigo), Desi Glaubitz (Bulleen),
                   Kellie Abrams (Canberra), Alison Downie (Dandenong),
                   Kristen Veal (Logan), Melissa Marsh (Perth),
                   Natalie Porter (Sydney Uni), Rachael Flanagan (Townsville)

WHAT:          Women’s National Basketball League 30th season launch

WHERE:         Bulleen Stadium, Sheahans Road, Bulleen VIC 3105

WHEN:          Tuesday 29 September 2009 from 12:30pm–1:00pm AEST