Jackson scores all-WNBA first team selection

Jackson scores all-WNBA first team selection

Australian Opals Captain Lauren Jackson has added a cash prize and another accolade to her long list of awards after being named in America’s all-WNBA first team.

Jackson has now been voted to six first teams and one second team in her eight year WNBA career and was the second highest vote getter behind Phoenix Mercury guard Diana Taurasi.

Jackson was diagnosed with a stress fracture in her back on August 30 and missed the final eight games of the regular season and the playoffs where her Seattle Storm team was bundled out in the first round by Los Angeles.

Basketball Australia Chief Executive Larry Sengstock expressed pride at Jackson’s latest achievement.

“It is wonderful to see Lauren continuing to get recognition around the world for her incredible skill and determination,” Sengstock said.

“As a product of the junior system that advanced to the AIS and our WNBL to international stardom with the Opals and beyond, Lauren is an outstanding ambassador for our sport.”

Jackson is a four-time Most Valuable Player of Australia’s Women’s National Basketball League and a two-time WNBA MVP.

The 2009/10 WNBL season tips off next Friday before Jackson’s former team and reigning Champion Canberra takes on Bulleen on Saturday October 3rd in the ABC TV Game of the Week.

Before Jackson injured her back she was averaging 19.2 points (3rd in WNBA), 7 rebounds (10th) and 1.73 blocks (2nd) per game.

The voting for first and second teams is done by a nationwide panel of sportswriters and broadcasters. Members of the all-WNBA first team receive $US10,000 each; second-team picks get $US5,000 each.

Three Australian Opals – Tully Bevilaqua (Indiana), Penny Taylor (Phoenix) and Kristi Harrower (Los Angeles) – will contest the Eastern and Western Conference Finals which started this morning.

All-WNBA First Team

Diana Taurasi – Phoenix Mercury
Lauren Jackson – Seattle Storm
Cappie Pondexter – Phoenix Mercury
Becky Hammon - San Antonio Silver Stars
Tamika Catchings - Indiana Fever

All-WNBA Second Team

Lisa Leslie - Los Angeles Sparks
Candace Parker – Los Angeles Sparks
Katie Douglas - Indiana Fever
Deanna Nolan - Detroit Shock
Sophia Young - San Antonio Silver Stars


Thu 24 Indiana @ Detroit               IND 56 (0-1) lost to DET 72 (1-0)
Thu 24 Phoenix @ Los Angeles        PHX 103 (1-0) bt LA 94 (0-1)

Sat 26 Detroit @ Indiana               9:00am AEST
Sat 26 Los Angeles @ Phoenix        12:00pm AEST

Sun 27 Detroit @ Indiana               9:00am AEST (if req.)
Sun 27 Los Angeles @ Phoenix       12:00pm AEST (if req.)