NWBL: Perth Wheelcats clinch 4th consecutive title

NWBL: Perth Wheelcats clinch 4th consecutive title

The Perth Wheelcats have claimed their fourth consecutive National Wheelchair Basketball League title with a 106-73 triumph over the Wenty Leagues Wheelkings on Sunday at Sydney Uni Sports and Aquatic Centre.

Perth came in to the weekend clearly as the team to beat having been dominant in the league for the past four years. However, today there was certainly a huge expectation that this run could be broken by a very talented and quietly confident Wheelkings lineup.

Perth asserted their dominance early and were never headed during a clinical display. 42 points and 26 rebounds from Finals MVP Justin Eveson, supported by fellow Roller Shaun Norris with a phenomenal triple-double of 30 points, 10 rebounds and 13 assists put the result beyond doubt for the Wheelcats

Final score saw the Perth WheelCats 106 def the Wenty Leagues WheelKings 73.

Wollongong Hawks claimed third place by defeating Sydney Razorbacks 89-70 [Box Score].

Full match stats can be found here.  

League Award Winners:

League Low Point MVP: Abdi Jama (Perth)

League Mid POint MVP: Jon Pollock (Wenty)

League High Point MVP: Justin Eveson (Perth)

League MVP: Jon Pollock

All Star 5: Abdi Jama, Jon Pollock, Jannick Blair (Dandenong) Justin Evson, Troy Sachs (Sydney)

Finals MVP: Justin Eveson

Coach of the Year: Ben Ettridge (Perth)

Finals referees: Brian Delavere, Mark Flanagan, Jarrod Greedy, Phil Haines, Helen Rosenberg, Barry Spicer, Matt Wells

Story courtesy of www.nwbl.basketball.net.au
Photo courtesy of Rev. William A Stewart