Bogut, Jackson, Mills, Jawai - who's got next?

Bogut, Jackson, Mills, Jawai - who's got next?

Australia's best young basketballers were unveiled at the 2009 Australian Institute of Sport (AIS) Men's and Women's Basketball program launch in Canberra on Wednesday writes David Packwood for AIS Media.

The AIS Basketball program, through the Australian Sports Commission, was established in 1981 and is widely recognised as one of the world's leading development programs.

The world's No.1 women's basketball player Lauren Jackson, along with Australia's first ever No.1 NBA draft pick Andrew Bogut, both progressed from the AIS Basketball program.  

The AIS 2009 men's program has nine players that competed in last year's SEABL East Conference League returning with eight new scholarship holders added to the squad.

AIS men's Coach Marty Clarke says "the Institute's 2009 program is again looking strong with a number of outstanding young players possessing great athletic ability and work ethic."

All sixteen scholarship holders from the 2009 AIS men's program are also members of the Australian Under-20 Emus squad.

AIS Women's and Australian Gems Coach Dean Kinsman said he was pleased with the progress of his squad.

"We have 13 players returning from last year's program, joining five new members on scholarship," Kinsman said.

"We have a good blend of experience, size and athleticism within the current squad and most importantly players with a good work ethic."

AIS Director Professor Peter Fricker said the Institute, in partnership with Basketball Australia, is continuing to help strengthen Australian basketball through the development of talented junior athletes.

"The AIS Basketball program aims to equip our juniors with the mental, physical and tactical skills needed to perform at league, national and international levels," Professor Fricker said.

"We are extremely proud of our record and tradition of producing talented basketball players who have gone on to excel at the elite level of the game."

AIS basketballers Tess Madgen and Jorden Page were awarded the 2009 R.E. Staunton Medal adjudged the most valuable players at theUnder-20 National Championships. 

Tess Madgen and Shane Harris-Tunks were the recipients of the Robert (Bob) Staunton Memorial Scholarships for 2009.

A full list of the 2009 AIS Men's and Women's Basketball squad follows:


Cameron Bairstow (QLD)              

Ryan Broekhoff (VIC)                  

Jason Cadee (NSW)                     

Matthew Dellavedova (VIC)           

Anthony Drmic (VIC)                   

Cody Ellis (QLD)                          

Hugh Greenwood (TAS)                

Shane Harris-Tunks (NSW)           

Jeromie Hill (QLD)

Matthew Hodgson (QLD)Jackson Hussey (WA)Brock Motum (QLD)Igor Nujic (WA)Jorden Page (QLD)Christian Salecich (QLD)Corban Wroe (QLD)Mitchell Young (QLD)

Men's Coaches:

Martin Clarke - Head Coach

Paul Goriss - Assistant Coach

Simon Giovannoni - Scholarship Coach


 Elizabeth Cambage (VIC)              

Stephanie Cumming (VIC)             

Bree Farley (SA)                         

Kate Gaze (NSW)                       

Kerryn Harrington (VIC)               

Jillian Haughton (QLD)                  

Kelsey Ireland (SA)                     

Rachel Jarry (VIC)                       

Michelle Joy (NSW)                      

Ashleigh Karaitiana (NSW)

Alice Kunek (VIC)
Tess Madgen (SA)
Cassandra Mangos (NSW)
Rosie Moult (VIC)
Kate Oliver (NSW)
Hannah Richards (SA)
Caitlin Rowe (ACT)
Nicole Seekamp (SA)

Women's Coaches:

Dean Kinsman - Head Coach

Nicole Ireland - Assistant Coach

Rebecca Dick - Scholarship Coach